Student and Emerging Professional

Committee Description

The Student and Emerging Professional Committee (SEP) is dedicated to improving student achievement in landscape architectural studies and providing new professionals with resources and networking opportunities. Strengthening the community of young and entry-level landscape architects serves to increase retention in the field, promote resource-sharing, and build professional relationships. 

Task and Goals

  • Cultivate UW/WSU Relationships
  • Promote Landscape Architecture and WASLA with Students and Faculty
  • Student Chapter Leadership Involvement
  • Facilitate WASLA /ASLA Student Award Programs
  • Student Mentor Programs
    • The SEP Committee administers student mentorship opportunities at both the University of Washington (UW) and Washington State University (WSU). The program at UW has been in place for more than 10 years, and continues to provide outreach to students in the Seattle area. WSU’s mentorship program is 2 years strong.
    • UW Student Mentorship Program – contact:
    • WSU Student Mentorship Program – contact:
  • Emerging Professional Networking
  • Listserv for Emerging Professionals
  • LARE Review Study Session Groups 

How You Can Get Involved

Whether you are a college student, an emerging professional, or a seasoned professional looking to give back, there are many ways to get involved with the SEP:

  • Join the Emerging Professionals listserv to receive announcements about resources and upcoming events. 
  • Sign up to become a student mentor. Find the email address above for your local contact. 
  • Send us information on scholarships, internships or other opportunities for students and emerging professionals
  • Become a member of the Student and Emerging Professional Committee. All interested professionals are welcome to participate and contribute! A larger committee base will allow us to provide more services to students and emerging professionals in Washington State.

Helpful Links

Committee Members

Chair - Michele Richmond,
Members - Rhys van Bemmel,
Laura Enman,
Carrie Culp,
Rikerrious Geter,
Board of Directors Liaisons: Member-at-Large (East) Steele Fitzloff,
                                                  Member-at-Large (West) Lucas Vannice,

If you are interested in joining the committee, please contact us!